Searching for Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede: Book Review

searching for dragons cover by patricia c wrede

 

The second book of the Enchanted Forest Chronicles, Searching for Dragons, follows King Mendanbar of the Enchanted Forest on his quest to find out who has destroyed a part of his realm. He meets up with Cimorene along the way and the two find themselves united against a common enemy as Cimorene tries to track down Kazul, the king of the dragons, who has gone missing.

The new perspective in this book as opposed to the last is refreshing and fascinating. I love that the Enchanted Forest Chronicles has several different systems of magic in one series – not something you see often!

I think Mendanbar is a bit of an awkward duck, as he tends to talk to himself a lot. The author has proven that she’s capable of inserting exposition in a much less clunky fashion, so I really do think it’s just a character quirk.

I enjoyed that Morwen got a good deal more screen time in this book – and Telemain was an awesome (and amusing) addition to the cast. During the course of the story, the author manages to parody still more fairy tale tropes, which is just as amusing as in the last book. Herman and his…er, predicament, is probably my favorite example of this in the whole series (at least, thus far).

I can’t wait to enjoy more of Wrede’s amusing and masterful storytelling as the series continues. Onward to the next! – Anne ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Searching for Dragons is the second book of the Enchanted Forest Chronicles and it is a story full to the brim of intriguing mysteries and interesting characters. I really liked following King Mendanbar’s point of view in this book, as I find him fascinating and love his way of doing magic!

Wrede does a great job of making her characters funny and enjoyable. I love the names in this series: Cimorene, Mendanbar, Telemain…they’re very unique and pleasing to say, to be honest.

I really wish I had known about these books at an earlier age but I’m glad to have read them at all! This series definitely has great re-readability.

Anne introduced me to these books and I’m honestly really glad she did. – Jake ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️



Read all of our reviews for The Enchanted Forest Chronicles series:

Also by Patricia C. Wrede:

4 thoughts on “Searching for Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede: Book Review

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.